The area's leading online source for news!
Louisa-Lawrence Co, KY

In God We Trust - Established 2008


NOVEMBER 30, 2015

Teacher gets 14 years in federal prison, must serve 85% before parole

Kentucky Press News Service

Robert Cantrell (Lazer file photo)A former Johnson County teacher was sentenced to 14 years in federal prison last Tuesday for sexual exploitation of a minor student.

According to a news release from the Federal Bureau of Investigation, Robert Cantrell, 26, of Versailles, Ky., admitted earlier this year to officials that in 2014 he "enticed a minor student to text him sexually explicit images of the student engaging in sexually explicit conduct," and induced the student to engage in sexual acts with him.

Cantrell was a 2007 graduate of Johnson Central High School where he worked until he was fired before the 2014-15 school year due to an investigation into the crime by the FBI, the Kentucky Attorney General's Cyber Crimes Unit and the Johnson County Sheriff's Office.

U.S. District Judge Danny C. Reeves sentenced Cantrell Nov. 24, to 14 years in Federal Prison for illegally enticing a minor to engage in sexual activity.

Under federal law, Cantrell is required to serve at least 85 percent of his 14 year sentence.

The Louisville division of the FBI reported that Judge Reeves also ordered Cantrell to serve 15 years of supervised release following his sentence.

NOVEMBER 30, 2015

Applied Science in Electrical TechnologyEngineering and Electronics, Industrial Maintenance  

PRESTONSBURG, Ky. – Big Sandy Community and Technical College (BSCTC) will offer three new degree programs beginning in January. 

Charles K. Moore is an assistant professor of industrial maintenance technology on the Pikeville campus of Big Sandy Community and Technical College.The Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS) Board of Regents approved Associate of Applied Science degree programs in Electrical Technology, Engineering and Electronics Technology and Industrial Maintenance Technology at its September meeting in Bowling Green, Ky. 

“These three programs are in high-wage, high-demand fields and we feel that offering a degree program in these areas will elevate our students to sustainable wage employment after graduation,” said BSCTC President Dr. Devin Stephenson. “As we work towards diversifying the economy of eastern Kentucky, it is vital that we develop a highly-skilled and highly-educated workforce.

The Electrical Technology program is aimed towards the areas of manufacturing, digital telephony, industrial and commercial electricians. Students receive training in areas including electrical components, motor controls, transformers, rotating machinery, programmable logic controllers, telephone/communications installation, construction wiring (residential and commercial) and National Electrical Code training to prepare for electrical licensure. 

The Engineering and Electronics Technology program specializes in Digital Telecommunications, fundamentals of manufacturing (Mechatronics), electronic devices and digital fundamentals.

Students in the Industrial Maintenance program learn the principles and accepted practices of the maintenance trade and include courses in air conditioning, carpentry, electricity, machine tool, metal fabrication and welding. 

Myra Elliott, dean of Academic Affairs, said the new programs will bring opportunities to students. 


Joshua L. Ball

Director of College Relations

Big Sandy Community and Technical College



As a surprise for the students, Miller announced that since they had met their goal, they got to celebrate by covering her in cool whip and slime.
Physical Education classes at Blaine and Fallsburg Elementary Schools recently participated in Hoops for Heart, raising over $1,000 to help the American Heart Association fight heart disease and stroke.

“Each school had a goal to meet,” said Connie Miller, PE teacher at both schools. “It was close, but the kids worked hard and each school exceeded their goal!”

Connie Miller, PE teacher at both Blaine and Fallsburg schools, led the fundraising effort among the students.A celebration was held at each school that involved hula hooping and basketball activities and contests. As a surprise for the students, Miller announced that since they had met their goal, they got to celebrate by covering her in cool whip and slime. 

“It was just an incentive to keep them interested and focused on raising money for a great cause,” said Miller. “Knowing they met their goal, made it all worth it.”

The American Heart Association is the nation’s oldest and largest voluntary organization dedicated to fighting heart disease and stroke. They fund innovative research, fight for stronger public health policies, and provide critical tools and information to save and improve lives. Their nationwide organization includes 156 local offices and more than 3,000 employees who work to improve the lives of all Americans, by educating lawmakers, policymakers and the public as they advocate for changes to protect and improve the health of communities.

For more information on the American Heart Association or to participate in Hoops for Heart, visit